Skip to content

Easter is coming up and showing one of my other passions: ceramics

April 3, 2012

Tomorrow our sons, daughter in law and not least our grandson, come for Easter holidays and we are ready for that. The big ones are for the big kids and the small one for the small one ! hope he agrees. If not I’m sure my grandson will like this, almost looking as if I had asked LEGO to make a special present for my grandson :) but thinking of being a kid or at least young and going back to the first photo, you see a funny ceramic thing to the left of the Easter Eggs, and that is a actually a teapot made as a fish. done in High School by myself in one of the most enjoyable classes (among a lot of awful classes) in ’68-69, where our Arts teacher, being an artist himself, allowed us to take music LPs with Beatles, Led Zeppelin etc. etc. while we made art, really something I rely on now thinking of myself of some kind of artist. At some point I thought of becoming ceramic artists, where overalls perhaps have made more sense than on campus :) well, I may go back to that when I retire. Here is another one I made in the early ’70ties. I really enjoy having the wet clay in my hands, shaping it into some kind of shape, not knowing it beforehand, making me really relax. Enjoy your Easter or whatever you do in the next few days

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2012 4:24 am

    I had no idea you were a potter too! I’ve had moments of thinking I should use the mud from the Lot Riveir below me and try to sculpt some stuff. The urge has escaped me-ah, maybe some new inspiration. Why wait till you retire? Happy Easter and lots of fun with the family-Laury

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    April 4, 2012 9:46 am

    Yes, I have not shown any sign of being a potter lately, but it’s funny how I’m moving into more and more hands on away from the more academic “hands-off” world Well, I have now had a 40 years break, so 2 more years to wait is almost like waiting a minute !:) you also need time to set up the whole pottery gear and have access to an oven etc. etc. but it will come, sure, perhaps I will build an oven out in the garden !! Happy Easter to you – Niels

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

