Skip to content

how I found my first overalls

June 2, 2009

DSC00900 Well, I told notquitejunecleaver, how I actually become an overalls guy, because it is actually only 8 years ago ! In the 70ties I had a pair of striped overalls, but they were so new and tight and not at all soft and comfy and I was very very shy and anxious in those days, stuttering and weak legs and frightened by all the movements etc. so it was many years after when I went to California for the first time in ’99. I had just had a break down due to too much work as professor building up a new department and I was still the little polio boy from the early 50ties inside myself and could not lift a cup ! but then in 99 I came to a therapist, who asked me to relax my body and breathe all the way down ! and then I came to California for the first time and went to cafés in Mission district and saw relaxed people sitting and do all kinds of work, wow, is that ok ? and then I came back for half a year in 2001 and saw some people in cafés in overalls, wow, is that possible and ok, well then I went to Clothes contact on Valencia in Mission, SF and found a whole bunch of used, soft overalls and my new life began as 52 years old ! and now overalls is more or less my signature and my wife and kids (grown up!) enjoy having a relaxed and relieved DH and daddy ! and now I have got a grandson and he is for sure going to be a bib overalls guy ! thats why almost every day is an overall day for me and I really look forward to celebrate it with all of you who enjoy wearing overalls !

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2009 7:33 pm

    I am very happy you shared your story! And very happy you relaxed!! Good for you!

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    June 2, 2009 8:24 pm

    thanks, yes, it is a huge relief each time I am doing things like this, confidence gets stronger each time

Leave a Reply

