Skip to content

genetic reason for simple clothes design ?

July 2, 2009

harpoth, JensWell, I love overalls and I have decided not to leave them behind in order to obtain some power or money for my other professional projects ! just like the brother to my 4th great-grand father, Jens Harpoth, a merchant, who lived in a small Danish town around 1800, had his very own frugal style even if he was very wealthy !, and one story about him goes like this: one day he went out to a country inn; wearing his old well worn clothes since he thought clothes should be worn to its limits and patches were not a bad thing! but anyway, the inn keeper was another kind of man and he thought that his new guest without looking close, didn’t look “properly” so he throw him out of the door. Then some of the other guests shouted: you just kicked out one of the richest men around here ! and then the inn keeper tried to get Jens back, but that was too late ! in other words, simple living has a long history ! lets celebrate it every day, and especially on November 20 of course !

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    July 4, 2009 12:30 pm

    When I began self-employment in New Orleans, I used to get my very newest, very bluest pair of overalls, put a very pretty blouse underneath, with a long fancy scarf that covered the bib, and a 3/4 length jacket over my overalls, with a snazzy pair of boots, and I don’t believe a soul noticed them! It was a challenge and lots of fun…but then again…that was New Orleans!

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    July 4, 2009 6:53 pm

    yes, there are many ways of doing it, thats the thing ! I have asked my creative wife, who is very good in knitting, to knit a 3/4 jacket with a mixture of grey and blue yarn, so I can have it over my overalls when I go to the Opera ! since I am actually working with opera and it is a challenge to wear overalls in such a conservative environment, but I am not giving up !

Leave a Reply

