Skip to content

thoughts about why I feel happy and sort of found myself !

July 24, 2009

DSC08861well, today I really feel so happy, why ? well, I believe I have found my true friends among overalls fans, Laury, Maya, Susan etc. apparently mostly farm girls and artists!, why, perhaps I’m not an ordinary man, but I happens to like down to earth simple life, to garden, make food, cakes etc. and do shopping in thrift stores finding cool and comfortable clothes, read: well worn, yeah, almost worn out clothes, especially overalls! I have not met many men with same interests ? well, perhaps I should not worry about that ! but I also like music and art in general, especially opera and all this have very little to do with science and academia and I am professor in documentation studies and just submitted a scientific article on document theory, how does all this fit together ???, well, if you earn money as professor and have time and possibilities to enjoy thrifting, food, garden, coffee etc. it makes sense, at least for me, so I am so happy to have found myself by getting connected to all the other overalls fans united in making November 20th to an international Overalls day! “national day” for the “overalls nation” ; well, in order to say that not everything is perfect, I am wondering how we honor all the guys who wear overalls every day without thinking of it as something special ! or is that at all a problem?, probably not, it is just me who is rabbling now! so I will stick to the good feelings and enjoy good life as much as possible. The photo is taken in July 2007 in front of our Danish farmhouse with my wonderful wife and our oldest son and a nephew and his friend.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    July 26, 2009 4:49 am

    I just want to say thanks for finding me, in the process of finding yourself Niels! You do seem to be the fearless leader of the “International Overalls Day” push! As far as men who wear overalls all the time for their work…my friend Wally with his puppy Busch in the photo album would fit that bill! What is documentation studies? Is it anything like research and statistics? Just curious because I don’t think we have anything like that in the states. I could be wrong!

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    July 26, 2009 8:18 am

    thanks, well, I simply cannot avoid doing things like that, and documentation studies, it is close to what in the states are called library and information science, but also media and communication studies and I have a very broad approach to this, so for instance, our overalls or your envelopes on the wall may be documents ! because they document (in latin doceo = to show plus mentum = some means) who you are ! and your history, so when I talk about conscious clothing, it is somehow the fact that you consciously choose your clothes to document, to show who you are ! well, hope I didn’t become too professoral !:) I actually made an international network for this (typically me !http://www.thedocumentacademy.org/ as well as for my opera project, http://www.theworldopera.org/, thats probably why I feel more a world citizen than Danish or Norwegian etc. , well now you know more about me !

  3. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    July 26, 2009 10:08 am

    I’m glad to understand more about documentation! It makes sense and seems to be a nice blending of a number of activities! Thanks-

  4. August 20, 2009 2:30 pm

    LOVE the picture!!! I really am going to get on the ball now with the overall day…promise! I am mailing out emails this weekend to see if we can get some sponsors!

  5. Sunflower permalink
    December 17, 2009 3:11 am

    I have a master’s degree in Library & Information Studies (from the University of Wisconsin — Madison), although I haven’t worked in the field in years. My specialty was children’s literature and services.

  6. bibprofessor permalink*
    December 17, 2009 3:51 pm

    Hi again Sunflower, it’s funny that you have graduated from Madison, since we have had our annual document research conference in Madison in 2008 and this year, so I was there last year ! you can see more about that here: http://www.thedocumentacademy.org/ and if you go to our overalls flickr group, see the link to the right, you will see one of the LIS professors from Texas, pelicanwind, who is also a really overalls guy ! so overalls are over all !!:) and it could be fun if you joined the group on flickr and posted some photos !

Leave a Reply

