Skip to content

Being elegant in overalls ?

July 25, 2009

Well, it might surprise you, but I must admit that I’m a bit ambivalent on this being elegant as well as loving really worn out, patched and almost dissolved overalls and t-shirts ! and that has somehow followed from my childhood, where I loved fine clothes and at the same time was dreaming of getting in old worn out clothes, in other words, one thing is sure: neutral conventional clothing have never been my style ! and that brings me back to an earlier story from http://thesartorialist.blogspot.com/2007_07_01_archive.html, July 5th with an elegant woman in Paris, on the steps, might be Pantheon or College de France, in overalls and jacket and just looks fantastic ! and on July 9th. there is a story about an elegant Japanese man in overalls ! and that leads to a post last month another elegant woman in overalls http://etiquettewithmissjanice.blogspot.com/2009/06/shopping-lunch-and-moviein-palm-beach.html and she has also a new post yesterday on hand-painted overalls !http://etiquettewithmissjanice.blogspot.com/2009/07/road-trip-yall.html
and then my self from a cocktail party at Semaine du Document Numerique at La Rochelle in June 2004, together with my professor colleagues, Bjørn Sørensen from Norway, Michael Buckland from Berkeley and Maribeth Back from Palo Alto, so it is possible to stick to your overalls when you have to be elegant ! have a nice weekend !larochellecocktail

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    July 26, 2009 4:53 am

    You look pretty elegant in that photo to me! Maybe it’s the starched white shirt. I have this long sleeved white cotton blouse that has mounds of lace on the collar and cuffs that I wear with my very blue new overalls from time to time here when I want to be “dressy”… they used to have a thing in New Orleans they’d call “casually elegant” as the dress for parties and events! Maybe that’s what we are when we’re dressy in our overalls!

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    July 26, 2009 8:29 am

    yes, casual elegant is the word and thats why I also love to be in California where it is widespread to be casual and it is really nice that one can keep one self and at the same time be ok, but as I told ms. Moon, another southern woman, who loves overalls and, I have got in contact with, for next Christmas I will wear my oldest overalls as she did at her last Christmas party , see her post in december 2008, I know it may be a bit childish, but it might also be the inner anarchist ! anyway I love to play around with all this making life more fun ! and I hope sometime my wife and I can go down to you in France, it looks very fantastic around you and we are also talking about going to New Orleans, actually my wife went there in 71 ! now I will stop, going to paint ! have a nice Sunday

  3. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    July 26, 2009 10:06 am

    I have no idea where this life is taking me financially at the moment, but you and your wife are always welcome here or in New Orleans. Evelyn is going to be here the whole month of September-I have the galerie opening on September 12-but I’m not quite sure where I’ll be by November! There is a possibility I will start spending 2 months each spring in New Orleans…so the world is full of possibilities-that I’m trying not to let make me crazy! It would be fun if you and your wife could come to France for the Galerie Opening!

Leave a Reply

