Skip to content

Hello from the North to overalls fans overall the globe ready for first overalls day Nov 20!

November 12, 2009

DSC018613274669469_a7374a1245Hi everybody, during the last day or 2, a lot of bib overalls fans have shown up on facebook thanks to Woodstock Lily and Jodi so a lot of people are preparing celebrations on Friday next week ! that’s just fantastic! I had never dreamed of that when Susan and I got the idea earlier this year and then joined by Laury and Maya so even if I am a rare person here in Norway standing in the auditorium in overalls, I now really feel there is a shared happiness among those who wear overalls because it is comfortable, relaxing and a special joy of following the process of fading and getting almost torn and fringed etc. but then patched in many creative and colorful ways ! like my old jeans jacket from ’61 and “new” key overalls from 2001DSC00926 so I am really looking forward to see how the first overalls day is going to be like! and please take a look at notquitejunecleaver tomorrow for recipes for overalls celebration parties next week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 2:20 am

    I’ll be wearing overalls that day as pretty much every other day. I can say without reservation at all that I feel the most myself in them. (Though they’re not the most flattering look for a woman with a little extra around the middle, I must say. Oh well.)

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    November 13, 2009 6:22 am

    Shara, thanks and it is a bit funny (and fantastic!) how one can have a clothing item that gives you that feeling and I know the problem, some overalls I bought 5 years ago are too narrow for me now ! so I have started to find some baggy ones when I am looking for overalls in the thrift stores !

  3. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    November 13, 2009 9:57 am

    I love the shot of you on the podium in your overalls Niels! You’re the overalls king…I have 2 days of workshops in Baton Rouge for one of my professional organizations coming up and I don’t know if I’d be brave enough to actually wear them…hmmm maybe a new pair, with a nice jacket and a scarf on the second day as an experiment! I bet when people are looking for you in a crowd or a workshop-others just say: “Look for the guy in his overalls!” I’ll keep you posted-Laury

  4. bibprofessor permalink*
    November 13, 2009 10:27 am

    Hi Laury, thanks, it has taken some time to get the courage ! and yes, the overalls have become my signature ! see here in a professional magazine for librarians, http://www.bibforb.no/?module=Articles;action=Article.publicShow;ID=496, and people can ask: why don’t you have overalls on, when I am at a seldom day have decided not to wear them ! but in business cases, I sometimes use my black overalls and white shirt, like at a cocktail party, see my earlier post on this, so yes, I am sure you can make it, you have the guts to do it! with a nice jacket and scarf, like the lady in front of College de France in Paris, http://thesartorialist.blogspot.com/2007/07/on-stepsparis-france.html

  5. elizabeth permalink
    November 19, 2009 12:07 pm

    HAPPY OVERALLS DAY! OVERALL, I’D SAY THAT OVERALLS IS THE SINGLE BEST PIECE OF CLOTHING EVER DESIGNED. PEACE LOVE AND OVERALLS TO ALL ON THIS DAY~ Liz (Anna, Texas)

Leave a Reply

