Skip to content

An overalls community is arising worldwide !

November 16, 2009

Hello from the very North 69 degrees North, where the sun disappear the day after overalls Day, on next Saturday for 2 months, so we have to keep the warm comfortable overalls spirit. In one of my first posts in this blog in April 2007, I was dreaming about a special bib identity/bib as folk costume, talking about making a bib day etc. and now 2 years later, it turns out to be a reality with Laury, Frankie, Jodi, Richard, Maya etc. etc. etc. I am overwhelmed, have almost no words for this development. I feel so happy about it, at last having found my folks ! been searching for years ! I’m a regular professor at a University, (photo of me in my office on campus) not the most traditional place for overalls people. I have often wondered what Edison meant,when he talked about missing opportunities because people are wearing overalls and it looks like “work”, and then Susan explained it for me and now I see 2 reasons why I didn’t understood it, one is that I am not the professor type who is not making his own coffee and printing copies etc., but I am also emphasizing the handicraft /”work” dimension of science as well of art, turning the scientist and artist into potential overalls people, bringing them down to earth, where research and art really gets it flavor instead of becoming a part of the dressing up high society cocktail party, which have never been my style and is never going to be style. Instead I want to take pride of what you have done through hardworking experiments wearing overalls with traces of a long history, that’s is really something !
Then a last thought around young people who are afraid of wearing overalls in the public, try not to be afraid. We are a growing group of people, a global overalls community who are supporting you !

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    November 17, 2009 3:52 am

    Great Post Niels!-I don’t think I’d survive 2 months of darkness! But as you say, maybe being warm, toasty and comfortable in your overalls would make it all a whole lot easier.

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    November 17, 2009 9:14 am

    thanks, luckily I’m not on Spitsbergen with complete darkness, we have some light, at least for an hour or two around Christmas and I will post some photos of todays light later today !

  3. Frankie permalink
    November 17, 2009 6:02 pm

    Nice words Niels, I don’t no what it is with biboveralls , it makes me feel free and happy when I wear them, is it just the link with old times or is this special pant look great on men and woman, ok It makes me feel relaxing when wearing it.
    Looking forward on overalls day, great idea Niels !

    Take care Frankie

  4. Lisa D. permalink
    November 18, 2009 1:43 pm

    Great post professor : ) I can’t say enough about overalls. I think my oldest pair is probably 8 years old, but I don’t have any with patches : ( I’m not saying there arent a few pair that could use a patch or two : ) Yesterday my daughter had a doctors appointment, out came my “nicer” pair, today I am inside and plan on doing some art, so most any pair will work for the day.

    Have a great day Niels!
    Thanks for this
    Lisa D.

  5. bibprofessor permalink*
    November 18, 2009 4:58 pm

    Frankie, yes, it is a mysterium, what makes overalls to be that special ! but they are as all of us here have discovered, and Lisa, thanks, I’m also sort of carefully choosing my overalls. My oldest overalls are also 8 years or rather I bought them in a thrift store 8 years ago and now I have started to patch them ! I will wear them now on Friday after work, since I have a meeting with research council where I am wearing a nice pair of overalls ! and since you live in Illinois, I can tell you that I enjoyed sitting on campus of University of Chicago in a café in one of their old buildings in overalls ! not knowing anybody while when I was in Urbana-Champaign my colleague asked me not to wear them since people would think I was a plumber and not a professor !:) well, as you said, when one first starts talking about overalls one can do it for hours, ! have a nice overalls day !

Leave a Reply

