Skip to content

It’s not just about overalls, it’s about life overall ! – afterthoughts

November 21, 2009

Good morning everybody, it was a fantastic experience yesterday to have such much fun with all you overalls fans, but actually as Lille mentioned, I also think there are more into this experience than just funny crazy things around a clothing item ! it is about life overall ! making an accidentally day into something special is not new, one of the most famous and best novels is James Joyce: Ulysses, about one day, it could have been November 20 ! and unexpected things for good and worse can happen every day as many of you know and also have experienced in these days. In that case it is important to be open and able to relax and breathe as much as possible in order to be ready for what each single day brings you of joy and sorrow, and for that overalls are not bad a thing to wear !:) and as Shara mention the fantastic thing about overalls is that it goes across male and female, all the discussions of gender roles, you can do what you like to do, no matter who you are ! be creative overall, and be ready for party by taking a scarf or red bowtie on or splashing your paint on them while you are making art ! and I think it all boils down to some kind of way of living, living in an frugal artistic way, leading my to last point, that I really hope that we at some point can meet each other on one site, giving a lot of hugs, sharing joy and grief, showing our art, knitting, cookies, newish overalls, patches, poetry or good recipes and make some good coffee and food and music and songs !:) so even if the sun disappears up here for 2 months, I know from you that the sun shines overall ! warm hugs from bibprofessor

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 1:35 pm

    I wore mine and posted about it. I have wonderful, warm memories associated with overalls! They seem to conjure up great pictures from my past, and like aprons take me to a simpler time, and slower pace in my mind. History, work, love, whimsy, and family go right along with the ease and comfort of a pair of Overalls . Thanks for starting something so simple and yet so positive!

  2. elizabeth permalink
    November 22, 2009 3:12 pm

    Alas, I had to work on overall’s day, and so did not get to wear them except when I was at home. It’s a shame they don’t allow them as attire where I work. However, while driving home, I saw a woman at a stoplight in her truck, and she was wearing overalls. I rolled down my truck window, and shouted “happy overall’s day” to her. A sister on the road :). I think she thought I was a bit nuts, but it felt good to me anyway! Blessings~ liz

  3. bibprofessor permalink*
    November 22, 2009 5:11 pm

    thanks Liz, I’m so glad you did that, wearing overalls and also shouting to the woman, even if she thought you was crazy! we, the overalls movement (I feel we are making a kind of mov..) must work for making overalls a default dress code :)) or at least just as ok as anything else ! I’m so glad that I am allowed to do it on campus even if I am the only one on the whole University ! warm greetings from the dark North ! Niels

Leave a Reply

