Skip to content

What’s next on overalls calendar ? book on ” Overalls : ways of life ” – call for contributions!

December 12, 2009

Hi folks, well, most may think of Christmas Calendars right now, but Shara asked me the other day, what’s next for overalls calendar, in other words what are we going to do now in this growing overalls movement !? Then I began to remember the book plan ! and I really think we have some kind of starting point for making a book on all this around overalls, meaning a lot for many of us. It is not just a matter of choosing overalls as such, but it is also a matter of making a life in which you make your own decisions, a dignified down to earth life, letting yourself be allowed to enjoy comfort as well as getting dirty etc. etc. There are of course several ways of doing this. One is to make online book or an overallswiki !!, to which one could add material all the time, but there is also still the opportunity to make an old fashioned printed book where all overalls fans could write 1-2 pages together with one or two photos ! and somehow showing what it means to people to wear overalls and make the ground for a OverallsSTOCK festival next year ?? In the first run, I would ask every body who wants to contribute to make a comment to this post ! including of course suggestions to other options ! Enjoy December in overalls, not least important to reduce the stress in Holidays season !

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2009 11:23 pm

    I would love to participate! It sounds like a grand idea. I think I need to start working on my overalls. They need a bit o’ love, to make them totally me. I will keep checking to see what the next step is…. Love and hugs, Marianne

  2. December 13, 2009 12:46 pm

    I’m game!

  3. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:33 pm

    Hi Niels-I’m back from my sojourn to the states. Very much the worse for wear and trying to get back in the groove here in France as I sort out where life will take me this year. I would love to be involved in some overalls projects, but I have no idea where or what I’ll be doing. I’ll keep you posted. Hope all is well-Laury

  4. bibprofessor permalink*
    December 16, 2009 2:09 pm

    Hi Laury, yes, I am very well, despite the darkness and the very cold and icy weather up here ! The overalls community grows almost every day, not least on facebook ! but also here, take a look on the comments and you will see. So perhaps just after New Year, I will try collect contributions, stories, experiences and photos from people and then try to gather this into a manuscript for a book on the overalls way of living ! and then try to gather people at some time at some place, depending on who and how and when, so lets just keep posted. all the best niels and I understand how happy you was when you got your mother out. My mother is 95 and has alzheimer, but sometime you can sing with her and feel she is happy in that moment ! thats is really something to experience if you know what I mean

  5. December 17, 2009 2:02 am

    I would also love to contribute some writing and pictures.

  6. Sunflower permalink
    December 17, 2009 3:05 am

    Great ideas! By the way, do you have any fleece-lined overalls? They’re the best for cold weather! I wore a pair today (fully lined in red fleece), and they kept me toasty warm! :o)

  7. bibprofessor permalink*
    December 17, 2009 3:43 pm

    Shara, great I will make a post about how to proceed with the book ! and Joy/sunflower, no, fleece is not me, too synthetic to me! I’m only into cotton and wool, so when it is really cold as right now, I have two pair of cotton overalls on (take one off when I’m indoor!) and then home-knitted wool under blouse (just like baby wool under blouses!:)

  8. December 23, 2009 9:40 pm

    I would love to contribute to your book about overalls. I’m sure that after reading my blog entry entitled “Overalls are Part of My Soul”, you realize how much I love my overalls, just as you do.
    Let me know when, what, when…I want to be part of this book you proposing about overalls.
    Take care.
    Carol
    tatteredrosecanada.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

