Skip to content

More on book project – idea for holidays : write for the overalls book !:)

December 18, 2009

Well, holidays are getting closer but if some of you need an excuse to do something else than baking cookies, go skiing or sing around the Christmas tree or whatever you want to do ! you could take some good coffee, cookies and orange, and start writing for the book about what overalls mean to you, are they a kind of symbol for your way of life, how much energy do you use to keep wearing them despite family dislike your style or are you so lucky to live in an overalls friendly family and neighborhood ? or what about gender and overalls ? or some other thoughts, experiences and stories about your life as a whole but with an emphasis on overalls of course. It would be great to have some photos, 1-2 per each author, and then send it to me on a special email overallsbook@gmail.com. I will send a receipt, promising only to use the material for a common book project. I don’t want to set a sharp deadline, but let’s see how much we have got around the middle of February 2010. Perhaps we could have it ready on the 2nd international overalls day and meet each other for release party !:). Any way I hope we can manage to do it as a project with as little money involved as possible, sticking to a simple frugal life style. If any of you have ideas of publishers, sponsors etc. please tell me as well ! Some of you have already offered your help and I will come back to you in the coming days or right after the holidays ! So far I wish you all a warm and happy Weekend from the very dark, but also snowy North ready for meeting Santa Claus in overalls of course !:)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    December 19, 2009 7:32 am

    I want those red overalls that Santa is wearing! I’m in on the project Niels, just not sure where my time will be with this new contract! I plan to get something to you before I leave in February!

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    December 19, 2009 2:01 pm

    Laury, thanks a lot, really glad for your support, excited about how this will work out ! and well, at least we have established the connection and if all this is delayed a couple of months, it does not make that difference. It is an important theme for us all the time 🙂 and I would love to give you a pair of red overalls if I had one beyond clip art overalls ! what about the rosa overalls we discovered in some net store !

  3. December 19, 2009 6:40 pm

    Niels,

    It has been a slow process but I think I am back in the loop. I just wanted to share the countdown to International Overalls Day. I found a wonderful plugin that counts down to the celebration day. You know I am not particularly clever about all the fancy fixin’s that go with websites, but I did find something quite simple to keep the countdown going.

    Hopefully, I will be back to full power soon enough to get really involved again. Thinking of spending a little time at the beach… maybe the winter…. making a full recovery. Who would have thought such a little accident could do so much damage to this old body?

    Happy Holidays!
    Maya

  4. Sunflower permalink
    December 22, 2009 11:54 am

    RED was the color of my very first pair of overalls! My mom gave them to me for Christmas when I was 13 or 14! 🙂

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      December 22, 2009 1:29 pm

      oh, Joy, I am almost envious to you, I had overalls in the 70ties, when I was young, but it didn’t work, I was too nervous and afraid of being strange even it was in the hippie days, but now I have found myself in overalls and so happy to have found all of you guys !:)

Leave a Reply

