Skip to content

Time flies, everybody gets older, even oneself, but old life (especially in overalls) is not that bad !

January 11, 2010

Hello, everybody, I yesterday I turned one page of my Annales de la vie!, becoming 61 !, enjoying life much of the time even If I look older ! it really does not matter much when you have turned 60. The rest of your life is sort of bonus, especially with so many good overalls friends !! and I really enjoy my baggy overalls in such a morning, with an awful weather outside, but nice coffee, presents and cake man for the party ! that’s good life in a nutshell for me ! I know many of you experience cold weather more or less for the first time, but I hope you will manage and avoid broken pipes etc. Here we are used to cold weather, using spikes when we walk on icy streets etc. and then you really enjoy overalls to keep you warm and relaxed when you are inside and having some good coffee !

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 7:03 pm

    Happy Birthday!

    Good to hear that 61 isn’t much different from 60. I hit 61 next month. It is truly a great time of life. 30 was a half decade of semi-depression, only because I realized I was supposed to be an adult. 40 was the first sign of getting better. I read that once I reached 45 on average I was at the half-way mark. 50 was even better! I realized that being an adult wasn’t so bad after all. When I reached 60 I discovered that I could be an adult one day and a kid the next if I wanted to. And, I could have blue hair if that was my desire. I opted out of the blue hair poodle do, but I have enjoyed every moment of my new found “I don’t care what you think” age. 61 should just add to the benefits.

    Happy birthday, Niels. And, many more!
    Maya

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      January 11, 2010 8:21 pm

      Maya, thanks, a lot, yes, it is really great since you don’t need to make a career any more and think of what suits your agenda !! I have to work 5 more years in order to ensure a reasonable retirement for me and my wife, but I have opportunities now within my job to play with things and being allowed to be a weird funny professor in bibs!

  2. Laury A. Bourgeois permalink
    January 12, 2010 6:51 am

    Happy Happy Birthday Niels!-It looks like you celebrated well-stayed warm-and I especially loved you cake man! We’re staying warm by the fireplace and having fun to boot! I can’t feel too sorry for myself when I hear about Evelyn’s -19F and the O’s and below F that my parents are experiencing. To them, my 25 and 30F looks like a day at the beach! Happy 61 and many more! Affectionaltely, Laury

  3. elizabeth permalink
    January 12, 2010 3:56 pm

    Happy happy happy birthday to you! Remember, you are only as old as you feel :), which hopefully means you feel quite young.

    Pipes are all thawed here, thanks for your concern regarding our troublesome arctic air we had here in Texas.

    Blessings to you on your special day!
    Liz
    http://araratacres.blogspot.com

  4. January 15, 2010 5:17 am

    Happy Birthday Niels, the cake man is fabulous. Overalls writing is coming along – should have something to send soon.

Leave a Reply

