Skip to content

about blogging and being glad for overalls,being a naive, happy overalls lover !

June 2, 2010

well, I am not sure how to write this post, but I feel it a bit difficult when I got messages about not being so eager to express my joy and love for overalls, by making comments to perhaps especially female overalls folks, and being asked to just sit for myself and enjoy that they like overalls just as I do ! Well, If I followed that advice, the consequence would be that I would never have got in contact with Susan, Marianne, Laury, Lisa etc. etc. and not been together with overalls friends in New York and Texas, so after some thoughts back and forth, I have decided to keep making comments with the risks for being considered an old weird guy loving overalls ! we would not have had the international overalls day ! but that said, I understand that some people, especially younger folks, have problems of showing their fascination of overalls etc. in public, but I do hope I can do my share of making it ok to wear overalls in public and even make it cool to wear, just like Elizabeth, Jaquandor etc. and it could be fantastic if the International overalls day could make it all right to wear overalls and make it easy to get out of the overalls closet ! have a nice overalls day, overall wishes from the naive bibprofessor !

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 9:39 pm

    Well, there may be some uptight folks out there somewhere who think you’re into some kind of fetishism or something, when it’s pretty obvious to anyone who reads what you write for more than five minutes that that’s simply not the case.

    So, yeah: Shut up, haters! Jeez.

    (I’m kind of grumpy anyway, because we’re in an extended stretch of hot-n-humid weather where I live. Not overalls weather for me, unfortunately. And there’s a depressing thought…the impact of global warming on overalls wearing!)

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      June 2, 2010 9:53 pm

      thanks Jaquandor! you are right and I am sorry for you not being able to wear the best clothing !:), my solution here is to change to a more worn and thus thinner pair !:), (although I don’t think we get it so hot as down in your part of the world !)

  2. June 2, 2010 10:28 pm

    Niels,

    As an old woman who has spent a life in overalls — I cannot remember a time when I did not have at least one pair — I say that some folks do not understand our love for our favorite apparel. It is a lack of understanding of the lifestyle and the attitude. But, as you have reminded me on more than one occasion, we are a group who enjoy many commonalities beyond overalls.

    I have to say that I have noticed a new trend along the beach. I see kids, those in my area, who live in bathing suits this time of year. Baggy overalls have become a favorite cover-up, especially the lighter weight painters pants. Some have been cut off at the knee and some are just about as short as they can be.

    Niels, you have reminded me a time or two that everyone does not see the world the way we do. But, then again, were it not for those people, we would all be dressed just alike! Let it go and ignore those who have yet to embrace the world we see and enjoy.

    Maya

  3. bibprofessor permalink*
    June 3, 2010 9:55 am

    Maya, thanks and you are the right, but at the same time, the strange thing in this case is that I have been warned from people who actually love overalls very much ! and do wear them too ! but they do both in secret ! very afraid of being discovered ! and some of them believe I should do the same and that’s a thing I don’t want to and I would wish they would relieve themselves from a self imposed restriction, but as you say, let them enjoy overalls in secret as we do in public !

  4. Laury Bourgeois permalink
    June 9, 2010 5:27 pm

    Mon Dieu Niels-I can’t quite figure out where all this negativity is coming from. I agree with Jaquandor…anyone who reads you for any length of time and scratches the surface knows you just LOVE OVERALLS! I just don’t get it! It seems pretty simple and clear to me. Keep doing what you’re doing…I for one would have a very huge hole in my life if you hadn’t found last year! I wouldn’t even know your other two commenters here-Maya and Jaquandor-if it weren’t for you. Thanks for being there and bringing so much fun and brightness into my life-Love, Laury

Leave a Reply

