Skip to content

Mind changing times ? moving towards one home, quite inwards life and make puppet theatre!

January 28, 2012

I’m still happy about being 63, but I also realize that I’m starting to think in a different way than in the past 10-15 years ! a bit scary ! I begin to prefer to have one place in the world to be my place and even worse, start thinking of sitting more or less for myself (and my wife of course!) and write lyrics for musical drama, not bothering about whether it is going to be performed beyond my own living room in our future living room puppet theatre to be build when I’m retiring in 2 years from now, but… I have also started to go back to where I began, being educated as historian, to find lyrics from the age of Mozart, in the age of Enlightment, especially 1770-1840 with the upcoming bourgeois society with a lot of parties and a lot of songs to be performed at these parties. They are really funny to read and they will be used in my future musical dramas in my way and my wife will make the characters into puppets. Perhaps we will make some small video recordings of them and upload them to the blog ! let’s see how it goes ! exciting in any case and my place will always be a part of the whole overall world ! here is a shot of the handwritten book of songs from the 1830-40ties, which I have through my grandmother.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2012 1:03 am

    Niels,

    There must be something about turning 63. I will be 63 next Friday and I can already see a change in myself — and I love it!

    I appreciate your writing music for your own enjoyment. Today I set up my easel and a canvas for the first time in over a year. I cleaned up the paints and the area for painting and even purchased a couple of new brushes. I decided that since I will probably never be another Monet I could still enjoy my work in my own home. I am addicted to Impressionism, as much because of the history and the era as the artists. I suppose my work will be my impression of Impressionism. But, it makes me happy.

    There is so much to enjoy and so much yet to come. I suppose it is something of a “Bucket List” but I can honestly say I have never felt so free — and you know we grew up in the age of freedom.

    It is interesting that you, too, are talking of “settling” in one place. I am, as you know, in the process of consolidating living places, letting go of the cottage on the beach and almost ready to put the home here up for sale. I want a small house, very open, with lots of windows in a warm climate. If there is a single problem, it is finding a small house with an acre or two. I cannot give up the pets and the garden!

    It seems that your 63rd has gotten of to a flying start. I am looking forward to the same.

    Maya

  2. January 31, 2012 5:42 am

    Happy Belated Birthday Niels-this work stuff keeps me moving so much that I barely have time for me, but I’ll be home soon. Have lots to share with you when I have time to sit, ponder, and share…what a luxury…in my overalls of course. Look to hear much more from me the first week of February once I’m back at the Chatette. I love hearing about your plans-music-life-and have more to share. So, until I’m home again-belated Happy Birthday-Love, Laury

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      January 31, 2012 7:25 pm

      Laury, thanks a lot, yes, right now my job is also demanding, but I have already started counting down to the day I’m only in one home all day ! (except for some travel for fun !:) and there is only 760 days left now !:) and looking forward to be in a place where nobody looks strange on me wearing overalls, (today it happened again a guy at my age looked disdainful on me ! well I laugh, but anyway we are moving in the right direction ! looking forward to hear more from you !lol niels

  3. February 3, 2012 3:42 pm

    Niels, I think you will love retirement and doing what you love to do. Time flies so quickly though when you are enjoying it. I have found scheduling creative time, me time, very important and letting friends know that it’s not a time for any interruptions. Although my friends don’t pay any attention to me, still. I find that because they feel you’re retired that your work is not real work, so be careful of that. My husband is a musician and buried in his studio when he comes home from his day job. Someone must work a $ job around here to keep me in art supplies. He calls his day job his hobby and his music his life or real job. When you love what you are creating, it’s in your blood, your DNA, and whether the world gets to hear your music or see your puppets, it doesn’t matter. It’s a talent that one must pursue and hone if only for ourselves. We feel gratified with creating new things and that’s why we are “here.”

    As for disdainful looks with the overalls, I think we all get them at times. Most just don’t realize we love to be different. We are those who create and comfort is our life. And we really don’t care what anyone thinks! Do we?
    Kate

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      February 4, 2012 7:42 pm

      Hi Kate, thanks a lot , No, I don’t care or.. on Tuesday I’m going to make a presentation on campus and I’m considering whether to wear overalls or not, and I’m actually considering not to wear them because I don’t want to use too much energy (and I know people will LOOK, the audience will be professors, ministers etc. but, today there is only 727 days left before I retire ! and in our farmhouse, it will only be my wife who can disturb me, since we are living really out in the countryside ! and I actually think that I will be recognized as professional playwright with my retirement as my “day job” šŸ™‚ because I have told potential opera companies that I intend to work full time on this, but anyway hard competition there will be, but as you say, it does not matter, you are doing it because you have it in your DNA and when you don’t need the money for your daily meal, it is a very privileged situation, I know ! have a nice overall weekend ! niels

Leave a Reply

