Skip to content

Winter overall(s)

March 13, 2012

Still more snow came last night and during the day, so the average snow depth is now 83 centimeter ! and it looks like it will increase ! In ’97 we had 3 meter of snow in April. Two fantastic qualities of having snow are emerging these days: polished sculptures are shaped by the snow itself and as walker, (never learned to drive a car !) you can “hear” or perhaps more correct to say, feel, the silence in the air made by the snow, when you walk home, even living in the middle of a city and with cars running beside you ! I love when our surrounding nature is mastering our experience. That leads me to my overall-s story today. In Denmark, where we have our farmhouse, going to be our main home, when I retire in 2014, the weather is usually very different from the weather up here in Tromsø, (although there have been quite a lot of snow in Denmark in recent years). The overall difference is first of all, the wind. In Denmark you are facing the wind blowing from the North Sea/The Atlantic Ocean, without any mountains to protect you from storms, so you see the trees simply bow when they are pushed by the wind. In other words it can be quite cold down in Denmark and when my wife, not usually wearing overalls (despite many attempts to tell her how wonderful overalls are) but when she was out cutting trees last month, (making an early start of our retirement life, when I’m waiting 2 years!),having a chill factor effect of around minus 18 celcius, she discovered the quality of insulated overalls, making her more or less immune to all cold wind allowing her to go on with her joy of cutting dead trees with our new battery driven saw. so apart from all the things we share, my wife and I, we now also share insulated overalls, until next time I come to San Francisco and find a new well worn insulated overalls, so we both can be out door and cut trees and all kinds of fun when I retire and until then in my holidays ! how lucky can you be, heaven on Earth for a bibfessor! and just to make clear, we also plant new trees instead of the old dead trees !!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    March 14, 2012 1:49 am

    I love my insulated overalls! I wear them everyday when the weather starts to get cold and I never feel the cold! They are lifesavers when it comes to working/being outside in the winter. Thank you for the beautiful pictures and wonderful words!

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      March 14, 2012 7:40 am

      thanks, actually, my wife is considering to get a pair of coveralls, sort of complete solution for being out in the cold wind 🙂

Leave a Reply

