Skip to content

look on the bright side of life

March 31, 2012

Today the wind has slowed down a lot, almost silent out there, so I could easily take the bicycle a few kilometers up to our supermarket in the small village, a few hundred inhabitants I believe, and buy what we need for the next days, so easy to live here, close to what you need of daily shopping, to a train taking you out in the world and able to bike back to our small farmhouse, while my wife is enjoying digging in the ground and cover it with grass-compost. after we have been to the first 70 years birthday in our generation, my brother’s 70 years birthday yesterday. where my brother and I of course discussed a lot and not least went into our favorite theme, nostalgia, do you remember etc. etc. in old days Copenhagen in the ’50ties and ’60ties ! Well it is really nice to experience this in the middle of what you read and hear in the news. I simply have to have a certain portion of simple joy of life in order to cope with all this terrible things happening in the world today all over ! You have to enjoy the beauty of your simple life and the nature around you, not to hide, but to be strong enough to believe some day the world will be more peaceful ! so I I wish you a peaceful weekend with this photo showing the fact that we are not far from the sea, explaining some of the strong winds the whole past week !

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2012 1:17 am

    I so appreciate your comments. You are right about looking on the bright side of life. Often it begins just as small as a pinpoint, but if you keep looking for the bright and the good, the light seems to magnify.

    Happy birthday to your brother. I do believe 70 is just another milestone along a journey that gets better each year. It seems that as we get older we appreciate the simple things in life so much more. Perhaps, as we age we realize that what seemed so important when we were young is still going on without our being in the thick of it.

    I’m looking forward to moving during the summer, in time to plant an orange tree, a tangerine tree, a grapefruit tree and maybe a pineapple plant or two. Oh! The joys of simplicity — and digging in the dirt.

    Happy weekend,
    Maya

  2. April 3, 2012 10:19 am

    Sounds like a wonderful celebration-I love the shot of you and your brother taking those trips down memory lane! We are so fortunate to be able to appreciate the simple, uncomplicated, lives! I think you and Maya and I are going to live longer because of it! Love, Laury

  3. bibprofessor permalink*
    April 3, 2012 6:06 pm

    Maya and Laury Thanks a lot, yes, I do believe that to an unbelievable extent good life depends on how you look at it, enjoying the small simple gifts every day and keep life simple. Once I was envious of people dressing expensive and dining at expensive places, but I could not think of it now at all !

Leave a Reply

