Skip to content

about feeling good when you finish something and something new will arise!

August 23, 2012

I’m not blogging so much right now, because I must admit that I really don’t know what to blog about. Overalls is somehow not anymore special to me ! It is my default attire, except when it is giving me problems, in airports for instance and to some business-meetings, so I have not much more to say about that ! This week I have started on my very last fall semester after having taught students in 37 years ! I started in fall ’74, with radical students teaching about the history of the Paris Commune and then it went to library school teaching etc. and now having my last freshman class and my last graduate course in document theory. The new and for me very surprising experience is that I really feel good about having the last classes, giving me some kind of extra energy to give the students what they deserve, a really good lecture from the heart like an artist on stage, giving something of yourself. I realize that until now, I have always been able to say, well, I will always have a new chance next semester or next year, but now, no way, it is now or never !! and at the same time, I’m really looking forward to my new life in my farmhouse in Denmark, working in the garden and write opera when it is bad weather or I just want to take a break from the garden. I have never thought that one could get such a kick out of finishing a career ! I have never dreamed of being so ready for a new career in gardening in my ’60ties, but I am ! well, some times life just make you happy without any warning !:) if you understand ! have an overall nice weekend !

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    August 24, 2012 3:58 am

    What a great way to be – bestto you in the coming year, Neils! I have a feeling it will be wonderful!

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      August 24, 2012 6:12 am

      thanks Tammy, it’s funny, because I thought I would feel sad about having my last class, but just the opposite happens, I feel happy ! perhaps because I’m so excited about my future career as a gardener and feel grateful to have been together with young people in many years, so again thanks !

Leave a Reply

