Skip to content

On the road and rail – part 2

September 22, 2012

We reached the first regional train in Denmark, and went with 3 different trains to our night train, among other stopping by in a small town, Fredericia, an old military city, but also crucial in Danish railway history, an important central station for trafic between West and East as well as North and South in Denmark, everything crossing through Fredericia. So we had our first interrail-stop there in a park After that we continued to Kolding ready for the City night liner going to Cologne in Germany, and then very early next morning we stepped out of the train in Cologne and one of the first things we saw this very modern train-station alongside with this very old Cathedral, an all the way through our tour theme was settled the very first morning, contrasts between past and present – history right in front of you, and before we continued to Paris, we just got some German pretzel, thanks Laury and tomorrow you will hear about our first day in France !

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2012 7:11 am

    Hi Niels-I know Cologne and always pass through on the train when I am going to Holland for work. The contrast of the train station architecture to the Cathedral is amazing. I’ve never stopped or visited though…just kept heading to Holland or to the Frankfurt Airport! And that pastry is a “pretzel”-I grew up on them as a child in StL. My sister and I have a favorite pretzel place in a mall in StL that we stop in every time I’m home. Looking forward to the next installments! Love, Laury, Dali and Sam

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    September 23, 2012 6:37 pm

    Hi Laury, thanks, I’ll update the text. It is almost as doing the whole travel once more when I am doing this narrative and finally I have something to blog about :)) lol niels

    • September 24, 2012 5:21 am

      Oh, you always havd something to blog about. It really is fun for me to read about your journey. I feel like I’m right there with you. I love seeing the smiles on yours and Bodil’s faces. Love, Laury

Leave a Reply

