Skip to content

Another distraction from the track

October 7, 2012

Now I am again being interrupted in continuing the story about our Interrail tour by events changing our life. We had planned to move back to Denmark, where we are born and grown up, in 2014 for retirement. Never the less, our landlord here in the North, the other day came with a cancellation of renting agreement due in 3 months from now, in other words New Year 2013, a year ahead of our planned return to our native country. Well, after the first chock, considering camping in the cold winter etc.,we decided to simply move back right away from January and then commute the last year back and forth before I retire in 2014. Actually, I started up here in the North, 20 years ago with commuting, so it turns out that I will end my Northern Arctic experience with going back to commuting. It will be interesting to see how easy it will go with becoming Danish again, after having been some kind of Norwegian for around 20 years ! At the same time, I have also been American for some time and most of the time felt myself as a World citizen, not belonging to a specific nation, but having the world as my home. Never the less, I must admit that I am more and more becoming aware of a sense of special relationship to the landscape in Denmark with the wind blowing most of the time, so no matter what it will be an interesting adventure to go back where I originally came from and again among other things be able to vote to a parlament ! but after this post I must come back on the road and right track.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2012 3:10 am

    What a surprise for you! It is disruptive, but sometimes these things happen for a reason. You sound like you’re taking it well and that there are benefits to being back in Denmark! The farmhouse looks grand…I can just picture you and Bodil working there in your insulated Carharts! We miss you both-Love, Laury

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      October 8, 2012 5:04 pm

      yes, as you know better than anyone else, some times it is a matter of getting something good out of a new situation and yes, now it cannot go too fast before we are in our farmhouse. I think we have been ready for it for some time already and right now we only have one pair of insulated overalls šŸ™‚ so I might try to find another thrifted pair when I go on my annual shopping tour to SF in December šŸ™‚ and we miss you as well, hope to come to New Orleans one time as well as Cadrieu ! love niels

Leave a Reply

