Skip to content

Now settled for a new life – the right decision is taken

January 9, 2013

2013-01-09-1992 I have mentioned it many times, but now we live here in our farmhouse on permanent basis and it feels so good especially when you are out in the garden 2013-01-09-1990 and trying to free some space for new plants while my wife is finding veggies for delicious dinner 2013-01-08-19872013-01-08-1988 and you make your scones2013-01-09-1993 and then you can go into your computer and write articles but also this blog ! 2013-01-09-1994 It was difficult to decide to primarily live here and work here with writing dramas/operas etc. instead of trying to make big high tech projects in business park etc., keep organizing things and sometimes have to look like a businessman etc. I said no and I have chosen this heaven on earth, good life in the dirt !2013-01-09-1995 many years ahead in my overalls DSC03637!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    January 9, 2013 11:19 pm

    And a happy birthday to you, Bib!!!! Love this, love your appreciation of the good dirt, the good life!

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      January 12, 2013 2:45 pm

      thanks a lot, Tammy, and yes, I do prefer the good dirt out here instead of the “bad” dirt I’m experiencing in the polished Academia, clean on surface and really dirty and nasty inside !

  2. January 10, 2013 1:36 am

    Just love those overalls honey, mine are lined for extra warmth this time of year! have fun, it is a fine life! c

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      January 12, 2013 2:47 pm

      Hi Cecilia, thanks a lot, yes, overalls become almost a living organism, as you wear them out and patch them etc, and today I have my insulated overalls on, when I went outside, it is below freezing point out here in the Western part of Denmark, facing the North Sea/Atlantic directly ! and this kind of life is fantastic, !

  3. January 14, 2013 10:41 am

    Oh Niels-can’t believe I missed your birthday! Happy Happy Birthday to you-albeit a little late. Looks like you and Bodil are doing just what you love-I know I miss that simple life. At the moment, I don’t have a lot of time to think about it though! Love to you on your birthday and all year long-Laury, Dali and Sam

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      January 14, 2013 12:54 pm

      hi Laury, thank you so much, the simple life is sort of “work in progress” since right now I’m sitting in Lounge in Copenhagen airport writing a reply before I head for Tromsø teaching in 2 weeks and then back to farmhouse for a week and then back to Tromsø in 2 weeks, but we are making progress and we enjoy our life in the farmhouse, to be a full time project from February 2014 ! but any minute in the farmhouse in the overalls is a treasure ! enjoy the good moments of life ! love niels

  4. January 15, 2013 11:51 am

    I would LOVE your life – it looks so idyllic and beautiful! (I am saving my overalls for the second date – I don’t want to spoil them on the first date!). And belated happy birthday to you!

    Sarah xxx

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      January 15, 2013 12:46 pm

      thanks a lot Sarah, and sure overalls are treasures to be saved to the very best event, so I understand 🙂 niels

Leave a Reply

