Skip to content

I’m not always happy, tra-la-la ! even in overalls I can get grumpy, but…

February 3, 2013

I wrote in the end of the last post, that almost every post I have made on this blog is so positive and happy, as if I was happy and smiling every second, every hour, every day ! To be honest, it is not the case ! Like most other people, I also have my ups and downs and can get grumpy and stressed ! But I must also think that I am and in the future will be more happy out here in countryside than in a city.
2013-02-02-2048 and it is not only a matter of beautiful landscape, but also a matter of way of life and folks around you. I’m about to retire from a life in Academia and to some extent in the performing arts, and it has been exciting, true, but it has also been very much about competition and being the best and use sharp elbows in a lot of power-struggle, very often with a lot of dirty tricks and it is not dirt in the literal sense on the farm, but psycho-dirt, and that’s not very joyful to be thrown into ! and again, there are a lot of exciting things going on in Academia and the Arts and you are coming around the world in many cases, if you are doing well in these fields ! It is on that background that I can enjoy so much what I did yesterday, 2013-02-02-2049 getting my insulated overalls on, it was around freezing point, get the garbage on my bikecycle and then out on the road, 2013-02-02-2051 perhaps not very exotic, but in its down to earth straight forward lines and a nice sun shining, it was just perfect for me to relax and enjoy life. When I had been at the recycle station, I went up to the village store and bought a few things for dinner, and felt good in my well worn Carhartt coat, insulated overalls, in a store, where other folks, men and women are coming in similar coveralls or other warm comfy clothes, and you are asked NOT to be special, unique, but just ordinary man in this small part of the world ! In Scandinavia there is an unwritten law, saying: “don’t think you are somebody” very social democratic ! and I have mostly disliked that,because I have felt it was suppressing many talents, but in some funny way, it is so relieving not have to be SOMETHING, but just be ! It has taken me many, many years to come there, but I am there now and I’m so happy about that. It does not mean I will abstain from wearing artistic overalls, writing articles, plays etc. but it means that I have a basic peace in myself and don’t take all the power-struggles into my soul and care too much about it, oh it is difficult to explain, but I hope you guys who read this understands what I mean ! 2013-02-02-2052 and living in overalls helps me in all this !

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy permalink
    February 5, 2013 1:45 am

    This is great! I know exactly what you’re talking about!

    • Anonymous permalink
      February 5, 2013 7:25 pm

      thanks a lot Tammy, I’m just wondering why it took so many years for me to learn it, but well, it is stupid to think of that instead of just being glad that I have discovered it now the joy of just to be !

  2. February 6, 2013 11:25 am

    Been missing you here Niels, and now I feel like I hit pay dirt! 3 posts! I really enjoyed these last 3 posts, but I have to tell you my favorite: “Psycho-dirt!” Can I quote you? Some stuff happened in my class yesterday that I want to tell you about, but will send an e-glad you’re back-Love, Laury

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      February 6, 2013 11:28 am

      Hi Laury, yes, sure you are welcome to quote me !, looking forward to your stories, love Niels

Leave a Reply

