Skip to content

My jackets – another obsession part I: 2 jackets anno 1963

October 6, 2013

2013-09-27-3781 In 1963, when I was 14, a lot of things happened for me. In March I confirmed my Christian faith, a so called Confirmation, at a Church in Copenhagen, where I lived and I had a special jacket for the very confirmation ceremony in church, but on “Blue Monday” I wore this black jacket filled with stars, which I got from my brother Ole, who got it a few years before, in 1960-61, when he went out on the farms to work and went to dance/ jazz parties in the nearby towns and villages, saying “Hello My name is Ole, What’s yours”2013-10-06-3860 and I used it many times in the following years, when I moved from Copenhagen to a farm and went to jazz clubs in a nearby town. My brother also gave me another jacket, which really is one of my treasures now. 2013-09-27-3772 I probably got it in order to use when working on the farm, but as I got used to jeans, I used it more and more, and in the late 70ties I was going to a party and got a pair of Angels on the back, not Hell’s Angels, but some nice angels of course 🙂 they are not any more but their silhouette can be seen on the back of the jacket. 2013-09-27-3774 I’m not wearing the jacket so much any more, but still keep it since I really love it, but for the upcoming International Overalls Weekend in New Orleans, I’m going to wear it. DSC00926

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2013 1:35 pm

    So cool! I love the jackets but the stories behind them,make them true treasures!!

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      October 6, 2013 1:39 pm

      thanks, yes, that’s why I cannot throw them out, they are an essential part of my life story !

Leave a Reply

