Skip to content

First week of my new life as emeritus ! it IS different!

February 10, 2014
tags:

2014-01-09-4803 Hello out there. I have now survived first week as emeritus and to be honest! It is quite fantastic. It is for sure different from my life till now in many respects, and almost all for the good.
I have not become rich economically, BUT in all other respects, I’m very rich now and ready for at least 40 more years if health will accompany many years ahead.
In 3 different, but all significant and substantial ways,my very every day life has changed for me. First I’m now into individual projects, almost all based on stuff I have here in my archives in the house. If more people are involved, they are only involved in relation to a very specific project, not any more making big organisations; I’m done with that and in this way, a lot of stress has disappeared. HAPPY, HAPPY
Secondly, I’m out in my coveralls every day, no matter if it rains, snows or strong winds. I love to be out in hard weather and get into the dirt and see how our garden can become a very nice garden, contributing with food as well as beautiful surroundings for ourselves and our future guests in the almost finished guesthouse.
Thirdly, the most surprising thing is that my whole body is in better shape than ever before. I’m not crumbling any more, but has a slim, right up and down position and look almost like a young guy, well no, I know :), but I feel strong with a lot of energy, ready to make a beautiful garden and write a lot of stories about people’s struggle for life in the past, exciting for myself and perhaps for other people as well, well we will see. At least my new life looks promising and have got a splendid start.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2014 9:00 pm

    Congratulations! I am so happy to hear this report. I know just how you feel and if you are like me, you wish for everyone to have such a healthy opportunity. Best to you, Niels, and I look forward to hearing more from you, the garden, and your projects!
    Your Friend in Vermont-overalls,
    Tammy

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      February 10, 2014 9:46 pm

      Thanks Tammy, yes, I feel so lucky, and I plan to come with a weekly report with more photos and might come close to Vermont in August (meeting in Boston) ! overall greetings Niels

      • February 15, 2014 2:48 am

        Oh how exciting, Niels! I can’t wait to hear how it goes. And if you do go to Boston in August, it would be wonderful to either host you or to meet up! Stay warm, stay busy,
        -Tammy

  2. February 12, 2014 2:02 pm

    You sound great Niels and really ready for all that lies ahead! There’s not a doubt in my mind that I will magically feel fit, trim and stress free the moment I step foot into the Chatette. It’s not quite retirement yet, but will be doing fine for now. I looked at some overalls on line that a friend sent…very pretty…I’m pondering. Love to you and Bodil-Laury

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      February 12, 2014 6:01 pm

      Hi Laury, good that you soon will be in your favorite home, I suppose one can say, in the Chatette and be in your (new ? tell me more about them)overalls most of the time ! here Bodil and I are mostly in our new mud covered coveralls working out in the garden, it is really nice to do that and then be able to go indoor and sit and write and have tea and coffee etc. love to you and Sammie cat

      • February 21, 2014 12:22 pm

        Well, I’m still pondering the new overalls. My dilemma of the moment is a floor length number to wear to a Mardi Gras Dinner and dancing party that John and MIke (were at the overalls party) have invited me to…oh, and finding a man with a tuxedo…all challenges at the moment. Ah, to be in mud-spattered overalls in Denmark with you and Bodil sounds like lots of fun to me. I don’t know if I’ll make it up this summer ($) but we shall see. Have a great weekend and lots of love, Laury

      • bibprofessor permalink*
        February 21, 2014 1:42 pm

        yeah, big challenges šŸ™‚ could be really cool to make an overall entree to the Ball Room ! and yes, right now mud all over, probably not in summer, but you never know, it could be really fun to have you here. You could borrow a bike and come along to our small beaches at the fjord etc. sometime railways have good offers, love to you from Niels and Bodil, right now both in muddy coveralls most of the time, more in new blog post in weekend

  3. bibprofessor permalink*
    February 21, 2014 1:50 pm

    Laury, can you send me a photo of your new overalls, are they dressy or ?

  4. April 2, 2014 4:17 am

    Hey Niels-I never did buy a new pair. I’ve been wearing my “Mission” pair regularly though and loving them. (Losing a little weight hasn’t hurt either) If I get a new pair, you’ll be the first to know-Love, Laury

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      April 2, 2014 6:58 am

      hey Laury, good to hear from you and it makes me very happy to hear that the “mission” pair has become regular, reminding me of the photo of you and me on the back of your house, the classic site for overall photos šŸ™‚ hope you will wear them out !:) love Niels, only 4 days left with gypsum, and then I’ll blog again

  5. April 2, 2014 10:10 am

    Glad to hear you’ll be back to it here and mended soon. With all my bits and pieces for teaching, workshops, and coming into the homestretch to departure; I’m not stopping in here to see you as often. Rest assured, I think of you and Bodil every day. I’ll keep you posted on the overalls front…and you’re right-those back steps really are our site for “classic” overalls. Love, Laury

Leave a Reply

