Skip to content

about time, age and daily life in the farmhouse

May 6, 2014

IMAG1255 I promised to write more, but actually there is not much to write about! Why ? Well, after having longed to be full time in the farmhouse, I am here. I have in the last years so many times been sitting in my office on campus and feeling frustrated not being able to get out and work in the garden. I have so often been envious of the gardeners on campus that they could work out on the lawns and plant etc. while I was indoors.

Now, I can sit and write for half an hour and then take my coveralls on and go out, no matter how the weather is and dig, plant and seed in the garden and go in after half an hour or more and write and more or less every day goes like this, unless I’m on a small tour to a nearby city or a nearby archive. I listen to radio, read the newspapers and notice that a lot of things are going on in the world, wars, scandals, elections etc. etc. but I feel almost as an old fashioned farmer, where things have their seasonal rhythm and not much change apart from growing and that it is enough just to enjoy that the plants grow and bloom!

At the same time, I have still my “big project” genome inside my body and from time to time, I’m writing out to people suggesting big projects, but I get very seldom any response. It looks like I’m sort out of that business for good ! don’t know why, but perhaps it is my age and my emeritus status although I still feel myself as fresh as if I was 30 years ! so I know that if I lived in a city without the possibilities to get out in the garden, I would be frustrated, stressed and depressed, especially if no one wanted to make BIG projects with me. Maybe my big project is this quiet life in overalls and coveralls when the wind is blowing ??IMAG1176

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2014 5:15 pm

    Our view of life from the other side can be so different when we get to it ourselves. I’m going through lots of changes myself…it seems to be a blending of all of these places of my life that is feeling the most right these days…we shall see. Glad you’re in your overalls and enjoying the garden-I’m sitting at my computer, in my overalls, with Sam on my knee purring away. Love to you and Bodil-Laury and Sammie Cat

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      May 12, 2014 5:59 pm

      Hi Laury, yesterday I was together with my classmates all back to 1962-63, a fantastic day, of course I was in my overalls, and it was as if we were kids, bout now on a higher level, not childish, but exchanging different kind of life stories, where I discovered most have been living in or nearby the same place all 50 years ! and some have been around, the world ! so people like you and me and Bodil must enjoy the joy of having many “homes” overall love to you and Sammie from the farmhouse

Leave a Reply

