Skip to content

Passions in and around the farmhouse

May 31, 2014

IMAG2266One may assume that living in a small farmhouse with no animals, just plants and books and a bit of music, wouldn’t be very exciting and passionate, well, it depends on which passion you have. I have many passions I must admit, but I’ll talk about 2 of my favorite passions, often mentioned here in my blog.
The first one is of course as all readers know, my overalls ! It is not just the overalls, but also very much the slow but steady and in its own way beautiful process of deterioration of the denim fabric like this IMAG2267IMAG2268IMAG2281 I feel it somehow express history and life in a very humble, subtle way almost like a painting changing all the time, until it becomes too thin and are buried! Perhaps that’s why I love to go to thrift stores, getting some clothes already started on the deterioration process.
The other passion is the garden, to see plants grow and fruits and berries start to come. I know we cannot sustain ourselves but I’m sure it helps that some of your food comes from your own garden. I think that’s why I love to follow the blogs telling about small farms and people who love to have their own veggies, fruit etc. If I was younger, I might also have had sheep, but plants are enough for me and my wife ! still enough work to do in an enjoyable way !IMAG2278 and here comes the small signs of Verbascum, pears and berries. IMAG2280IMAG2275IMAG2276

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2014 5:27 am

    I love your description of the slow and subtle changes to our overalls over time! I’m seeing it myself again this summer as I have my work pair that is reflecting my activities everywhere-of course, it’s not ALL work…there is a spot or two of red wine here and there! Love to you and Bodil-Laury and Sammie cat

  2. bibprofessor permalink*
    July 7, 2014 8:03 am

    thanks, I think one of the many good things about overalls is that they somehow document your everyday life, including work as well as wine or flour from baking scones 🙂 in a more visible way than other clothes, in this way they become treasures! love to you and Sammie Cat from Bodil and Niels, taking a breat in out door activities as long the rain pours down

Leave a Reply

