Skip to content

my first year as retired – quiet good over all – in overalls

December 16, 2014

Hi, I’m not blogging as much as I did when I worked ๐Ÿ™‚ You know, retired people are busy! and I am a typical retired in that sense. Now I’m getting close to the end of the first year of being retired and I must just admit, it is wonderful and fantastic to be retired, at one important condition, as long as your health is ok! I know not all of my friends are so lucky and I feel it as an enormous privilege to be healthy and strong and to do a lot of joyful things.
I can start with taking my well worn Carhatt jacket and my just as much worn insulated overalls on IMAG6585 and cut down a broken branch from a tree soon ready to be cut down a bit, IMAG6589 and then go and take a view out on the fields with the Sun flowers as bells IMAG6595 and go inside our farmhouse and get some coffee and scones and next day go either to Struer to work in our World opera lab at the music school IMAG6565#1 and play with the rest of the world or go to the National Archives in Viborg and work under the roof IMAG6689 with old documents IMAG6686 and discuss it with other historians in the archive and around the world, and all can be done in overalls, even when I go to conferences, some of my colleagues support me, by coming in their own well worn overalls like Kiersten at DOCAM on Kent State University last August, IMAG4496#1, so over all I still feel very happy, in the middle of a world with so many conflicts, wars, crises etc. etc. it must be heaven on earth to have such a life, not least when you could add this shot of some of my dear kidsIMAG6423, so again a happy blog-post and if you ask me if I don’t have any problems, I must admit not much personally besides being sad about the illness of friends and the bad things around the world, but yes, I have for sure have had a lot of problems and depressive periods in my life, a lot of struggles with stuttering, with being on the fringe, with challenging the systems, but that’s history, and it is not yet time to tell about all that mess, if ever! for now now I’ll say happy holidays to everybody reading this blog and a prosperous New Year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2014 1:09 pm

    I love your energy, Niels. And it is true, there is always work to be done whether you are employed by someone or your own boss. I know you will never sit idly and let dark feelings creep in because you find joy in the beautiful things around you, such as the silouettes of the sunflowers, the comfort of an old pair of overalls, a hot cup of coffee & scones, your children, your beautiful surroundings. This was a wonderful post. I always enjoy hearing from you, even if you can’t blog as often as you’d hoped to!

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      December 17, 2014 3:48 pm

      Thanks a lot Tammy, your posts are always giving me energy by your down to earth approach to life, always with a humorous twist ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’m glad to finally have found out what good life is! When I was in my fifties, I was so busy and stressed so I could not see the good life right in front of me! anyway, that is past, and now merry Christmas, with a lot of cooking, singing and dancing ! best wishes for the whole White family!

Leave a Reply

