Skip to content

Why are most of my overalls friends women ?

March 1, 2015

The other day one of my overalls friends, Tammy had birthday making me think of why most of my overalls friends are women,Laury , Lisa , Susan and only one man, Kelly ?

Then the answer came in an indirect way reading a blog by a man, who loves to wear overalls and has started, guess what, a WAR of overalls, a war between the different brands of overalls, oh my goodness, I thought. Then I realised that most men, who are fans of overalls, are also fans of war, of being bullish and macho! making overalls a kind of : here I’m coming strong and powerful! ok, but that’s not why I am wearing overalls! Perhaps all this has also something to do with the fact that as University professor I’m not supposed to wear overalls, but to wear jacket and jeans, and women are not supposed to wear overalls, but to wear dresses or jeans. I’m wearing overalls because they make me feel free and able to breathe all the way from top to bottom, to jump or dance, be childish, if you like, have fun,relax, and NOT suppose to promote myself, but be comfortable with myself and feel inner peace and not afraid of being dirty, IMAG5341 and ready for making things in the gardenIMAG5868, in the kitchen,IMAG7308IMAG7828 being creative or walking on the beach IMAG3372 etc. I also love knitting, not in the sense of knitting myself, but to use the results of my wife’s knittingIMAG7850 match excellent with my overalls and I love to buy yarn in different places, to choose the color of the yarn, and I love the micro aesthetics of worn out overalls IMAG2281 so of course it is not strange that my friends are people who love to work in the garden, to make food, to knit or paint, etc. and the fact that these guys are women, well that’s how the world is! I’m glad to have all these friends making me feel an ok guy, even if I happen to be of different gender than most of them. They seem not to care so I don’t need to care either so I better just continue to enjoy my good friendships.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Male Friend of Niels permalink
    March 1, 2015 4:33 pm

    Niels – what is this link to this “war overalls” page- I don’t agree with war at all but have not seen you reference this before.
    Signed, a male friend of yours from USA

  2. March 1, 2015 8:52 pm

    I read your post, and is kind of amazing that most of your readers are “overall wearing” females. In the U.S., it was never a fashion statement until the late 60’s and the 70’s when those of us hippies were “communing it” and peace, love and free love abounded in it’s innocence. Farmers and train engineers, iron workers and miners were the ones who always wore overalls. Overalls were tough, time tested and lasted. They are comfortable, easy to shed, roll up, get dirty and wash easily.
    Lately, I have been going through my photo albums from the past, scanning family photos, because many are losing their color and fading into a nonexistence. What I have found is that I have been wearing overalls since childhood, teens, and all through the years! I suppose freedom is the reason. As for a war of overall garment makers… whatever fits most comfortably and moves with me at any age or stage of life, is all I look for. I had my favorites and my bellbottom overalls from 1973 were by far, my favorite. I guess, if there was to be a war of the overalls, make it one on the makers of the fasteners! There is where the newer ones have the problems. (+: Love your blog!

  3. March 14, 2015 11:45 am

    Hey Niels-I have been remiss here in not checking in lately. I find it interesting, that aside from Kelly most of your overalls friends are women. I’m proud and honored to be one of them. I’m wondering if part of it could be that women can be better at keeping in touch? I always hesitate to make generalizations, but it’s a possibility. I enjoy having you as our fearless leader. Keep it up and keep on being the you we all love-Laury and Sammie Cat

  4. bramlett permalink
    March 17, 2015 4:59 am

    Thanks for the mention of my War of the Overalls! I’m cracking up thinking how American it is of me…my goal is to put two brands to the test, and to start a revolution of overall-wearing workers and farmers who take back America from the elites! Or, more likely, who rebuild it after the imminent economic collapse…cheers Bibfessor!

    • Tom permalink
      May 12, 2016 7:00 pm

      Glad to see you chose two American brands to review! I am a fan of the Round House brand. Wear them for gardening, yard work, and welding in my home shop. I even wear them to town. I’m proud to buy American made to support American workers.

  5. March 17, 2015 5:24 am

    Maybe war is a strong word, but the guy is really just comparing overalls.

    • bibprofessor permalink*
      March 17, 2015 7:45 am

      ok, you are right, but it just made me thinking of why most of my overalls friends are women ! and I don’t see many men writing about garden, clothes, kids and food/bakery in addition to overalls, but I see several women ! and the war-word made me think, perhaps that’s why, but it may not be the case, I know

  6. Tom permalink
    May 12, 2016 8:23 am

    I wore overalls as a kid growing up on a farm. Hadn’t worn them for years until I retired. Got a pair when I retired and have since bought several more pairs. I wear them literally 24/7 and love them for their comfort when working in the yard, garden and my shop. I even wear them when going to town. Don’t see many men wearing them anymore but that doesn’t bother me one bit as I’m not out to make a fashion statement.

Leave a Reply

